Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
Troy Akers Receives IASP District 2 Principal of the Year
Troy Akers Receives IASP District 2 Principal of the Year
WCS District
Tuesday, November 24, 2020

On November 22, 2020, Troy Akers, principal for Warsaw Community High School, received a plaque honoring him as District 2 Principal of the Year. The Indiana Association of School Principals (IASP) annually recognizes outstanding school leaders in each of the 12 Indiana districts who have succeeded in providing high-quality learning opportunities for students. These principals are nominated by their peers for the exemplary contributions they have made to the profession.

Troy Akers is in year 13 at Warsaw Community High School and year two of a three-year term as a member of the IASP State Board. Akers emphasizes the importance of the word “all” in the school’s mission statement: “to inspire and equip all students to continuously acquire and apply knowledge and skills while pursuing their dreams and enriching the lives of others.” Further, he credits collaboration with Virginia’s Darden School of Business and the Curry School of Education and the use of Illuminate with improvement in student performance.

Dani Barkey, Assistant Superintendent for Secondary Schools, was at the banquet and congratulated Mr. Akers adding, “I have had the privilege and honor of working with Mr. Akers for many years. He is most deserving of this distinction.”

Dr. David David Hoffert, Superintendent for Warsaw Community Schools also attended the award ceremony and offered, “All students leave WCHS better people and well prepared due to Mr. Akers’ influence.”

Congratulations Warsaw Community High School Principal Troy Akers, District 2 Principal of the Year!

#wcsmission #ForwardTogether